Options

Hi. Passed Sec+. Here are my thoughts

momoliciousmomolicious Member Posts: 28 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hey everyone,

Before I get into the post, I'd like to make a quick introduction. I'm a 27 year-old military contractor (electronics), currently living and working out of Japan. I've been a guest lurker for the past month or so, and have found the guidance from you all, incredibly insightful. I really just wanted to create an account to thank everyone.

So, from the bottom of my heart, thank you.

Now back to this post's topic.

So, I recently passed my CompTIA Security+ exam (SY0-401). I passed it on September 4, 2015, and scored an 803 (in case you're interested).

This was my first-ever CompTIA exam, and therefore, am pretty stoked I'm certified in something.

I also just wanted to share what I ended up doing to pass, and hopefully, help other lurkers like my once-self join this great community. At the very least, I'd like to share my thoughts and pass on some encouragement.

So a few things, I'm not a great test taker, nor did I even need to take the exam (not required for my job). I just wanted to start on something.

I finished my BS in ISS (AMU/APUS) over a year ago, and well, noticed I was getting way too complacent at work.

This is where the techexams community came through for me. I started Googling questions about career paths and master programs, and the people here just motivated the hell out of me. This community really just pushed me to go after something, anything...

I chose Security+ as it was something I didn't feel I needed to study for. At work, I deal with the repair of electronics, but in doing so, end up working on several technologies, such as Linux (RHEL, CentOS), Microsoft Servers, and Networking. This all takes place in a secure building (Secret Clearance). Therefore, we're all pretty aware of best practices for security.