Options

No IT experience; what to study?

TechZooTechZoo Registered Users Posts: 3 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi,

I want to learn IT for a living, starting out fixing home computers. What should I study? A general degree or diploma in IT?

Any help would be appreciated.

TechZoo

Comments

• Options
    nelson8403nelson8403 Member Posts: 220 ■■■□□□□□□□
    I'd look into computer science for a degree, you can minor in a specialization but at the heart of most IT careers is programming/scripting. Computer Science is also the most highly regarded of the degrees.
    Bachelor of Science, IT Security
    Master of Science, Information Security and Assurance

CCIE Security Progress: Written Pass (06/2016), 1st Lab Attempt (11/2016)
  • Options
    SlowhandSlowhand Mod Posts: 5,161 Mod
    I'll second that degree option: if you're going for an Associates(2-year) or Bachelor's(4-year), computer science is the best option available. While it may not seem like it while you're studying, the coding and in-depth software background will help you in IT. If you're unsure of what, exactly, you want to do, go to your local community college and start on an AS, then you can look at other options moving forward.

As for certifications, that's going to depend largely on what you're interested in. If you want to get into systems and servers, then something like CompTIA's A+ or starting with Microsoft's desktop or server support certs is a good choice. If you want to dive into networking, the CCNA is your best bet. There are also a wide variety of Linux and programming certs out there, and much more. Figure out what general topic interests you, and start from there.

In an ideal world, a successful candidate will have both a degree and some certifications, (especially if you're lacking experience.) How much time and effort you want to invest in your career is up to you.

Free Microsoft Training: Microsoft Learn
    Free PowerShell Resources: Top PowerShell Blogs