Options

Need advice on reapplying at a company for a data center job.

I have somewhat of a predicament. A few years ago, I had a desktop support job at a company that runs a big data center not too far from me. At the time, I was doing pretty basic level desktop support for $12 an hour (ridiculously low pay!), but I was just getting started in IT work at the time and took what I could get.

A few months later, I had a chance for a better desktop support job at a 50% pay raise, and I took it. I gave this prior data center company the full 2 weeks notice and left on good terms.

Now it is a couple years later. I've got 3-1/2 years Desktop Support experience, I recently got my CCT Routing & Switching, am about to get the VMware VCA, and will be starting the CCENT after I finish the VCA.

I have reapplied to this company over the summer, but am being blocked by an obviously clueless HR department. I met them at a job fair in June, before I got my CCT, but I don't think they took me seriously.

Now, at the data center, I was on good terms with the IT director who is still there. I had the idea to mail my resume and a cover letter to him directly, as his is one of the very few names I remember from the place, but I wonder if that might be perceived as too stalker-ish and would be blown off and told to apply through the HR department like everyone else.

I guess I should just give it my best effort and mail the IT director a letter directly. If he says I'm in, then I am in, thus bypassing the clueless HR department who doesn't have my best interests as a priority.

Any thoughts on this?icon_rolleyes.gif

Comments

• Options
    MowMow Member Posts: 445 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Always use your connections. If you got along with the guy, then send away. I would make it a very respectful letter and hope for the best. Also, if you're not short on funds too badly, maybe invite him to lunch in your letter.
  • Options
    TheFORCETheFORCE Member Posts: 2,297 ■■■■■■■■□□