CISSP Study-Tech Skills Gap For An InfoSec Noob

orlandoflorlandofl Member Posts: 216 ■■■□□□□□□□
Hello,

My post is a two part question involving CISSP study material as well as a skills gap in those new to InfoSec that acquire the CISSP. I’ve read quite a few posts indicating the excess amount of ‘paper’ CISSP(s) with no ‘real world’ experience. I fully intend on becoming one of those individuals. I’m very interested in InfoSec and I honestly believe this is the area of IT that I want to make a career out of.

A brief bio about me. I’m in my last semester of my B.A. at Thomas Edison State College (finishing up in 2 weeks!) of a non-technical degree and intend on continuing my education at WGU in pursuit of their M.S. Information Security and Assurance program in January. A stipulation of admission to the program per WGU:

Online IT Degree | MS in Information Security and Assurance

-Have earned a bachelor’s degree in IT security or IT networking that covers at least two CISSP CBK domains. (You can find the domains listed here.)

-Hold a CISSP, CCIE, CCNP, CCNA, or GCWN certification that was earned within the last five years.