Can anyone offer some guidance?

DDStimeDDStime Member Posts: 113 ■■■□□□□□□□
I am new here and let me say there is a lot of helpful people on the forums from what I see. Having said that I have a question for someone that might be willing to help.

I work as a network admin using Active Dir, SCCM, ticketing systems and manage some servers, but don’t really know technically how things work.

I have my CISSP/Sec+, but am really lacking technical knowledge of networking and OS’s. I learned enough to pass tests, but I would like to know the info in greater detail.

So I eventually would like to be a security engineer of some type, but do not know what route to take, or really what to specialize in. I have a lot of interest in how things communicate, but also have a lot of interest in how to reverse engineer and hack things.

Skill level of networking is about 3 out of 10 (I have set up switches and routers for very small LAN’s) and skill level of pentesting is about a 3 out of 10 (I have used Kali to break some keys and WIFI as well as wireshark to follow TCP streams and some very basic packet inspection).

Being that I want to be in the security field and have not made up my mind on what specifically what cert would you recommend?

I have studied CCNA for a bit and also have skimmed various pen certs, but what cert would be a great foundation to start with?

Comments

• bpennbpenn Member Posts: 499
    You say your networking knowledge could use some work. Definitely get your CCNA, then. You need to know how things communicate and that would be a great first step.
    "If your dreams dont scare you - they ain't big enough" - Life of Dillon
  • 636-555-3226636-555-3226 Member Posts: 975 ■■■■■□□□□□
    Look at SANS training website and see what kind of classes they offer. You don't need to TAKE the classes but can use them to help figure out a path.
  • BlackBeretBlackBeret Member Posts: 683 ■■■■■□□□□□