Options

VCP Supplemental Material

tkerbertkerber Member Posts: 223
Hello fellow techies..

Recently I've managed to get myself some free VCP training via my company. I work for a rather large tech company and they occasionally have a one week VCP class that employees can attend. Now I've heard the class alone won't entirely prepare you for the VCP but it's definitely useful.

I'm wondering if anyone has any good suggestions for VCP training. I've seen a few of you mention Pluralsight--to which I used to have any account for. I would ideally like to get my VCP but I am studying for lots of other stuff with WGU as well. Any input on good material would be greatly appreciated. Also for those of you who have the VCP--how challenging is it?

Comments

• Options
    jibbajabbajibbajabba Member Posts: 4,317 ■■■■■■■■□□
    The class isn't just useful but actually mandatory icon_smile.gif

As to how challenging it is depends on your experience, like with everything really. The most useful supplement to the course is the Blueprint and a lab.

The Blueprint will show you exactly what is covered in the exam and the lab (yours or company) will help you to do and learb the tasks described in the Blueprint.

So if you worm with vSphere on daily basis, the VCP is probably just a way of proving your skills. If you start from scratch and you just about know how to spell vSphere, then you likely will have to invest a lot of hours.

Whilst people have passed the VCP before without practical experience, it isn't really common I don't think (without cheating anyway).

A very good book is 'Mastering vSphere 5.5' or 'Mastering vSphere 6', depending on the version you want to go for.

Then you could always sign up to Pluralsight or CBT Nuggets as a trial and go through those videos.

But you could just read the book, lab, and use YouTube / vBrownbags as study aid.
    My own knowledge base made public: http://open902.com :p
  • Options
    LexluetharLexluethar Member Posts: 516