Options

IT guidance required for my next step

col1234col1234 Member Posts: 10 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello everyone,

Firstly, let me introduce myself i am from Liverpool, England and i am a recent graduate of Liverpool John Moores University studying computer studies. more info here - https://www.ljmu.ac.uk/study/courses/undergraduates/2015/computer-studies

I have been looking at entry level jobs and decided that my passion really like within hardware and technical support.

So, I have applied for a few entry level roles in the relevant field however haven't had much success due to lack of experience/knowledge.

I have decided that i need to broaden my knowledge to get an entry level job and do to this I have been researching IT Certificates, however with a lot of choice out there I really don't know whats considered out dated, worthwhile or even pointless.

Does anyone have any advice on where to begin? I have looked into CompTIA A+ and a few different microsoft ones.

Any advice at all would be greatly appreciated
Cheers,
Colin icon_cheers.gif

Comments

• Options
    culpanoculpano Member Posts: 163
    Hi Colin,

Yes CompTIA A+ is definitely the first certification to go for. It is in two parts and covers hardware in one and software/OS in the other. It covers an extensive amount of material and despite some people thinking it's a bit basic it certainly is not. I read the complete study guide to A+ just to catch up on being out of the IT game for a few years and it really helped me refresh my knowledge. Be aware that the exam is due to be updated in December to reflect Windows 8.1 so may be best waiting until the new material is released. I would really do this before tackling the Microsoft ones. Those are really tough and I know a fair bit of the stuff already (TCP/IP, servers, NTFS etc) from the old NT4 days but I'm still struggling with the Windows 8.1 certs I'm doing now !

Get working on A+ first. It will give you a very good grounding.

Regards,
    Gary