Options

Passed - my insights and observations

EburonEburon Member Posts: 29 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi guys,

I just did & passed the CISSP exam, and I want to share my insights and observations on the exam with you. Of course this message is solely based on one exam and one exam only, and should be treated in conjunction with other "passed" threads.

The why

After working well over 15 years in the IT/audit industry, I thought the CISSP exam would be a good litmus test for me as a professional. My background is mainly audit/finance/Big-4 consulting with fairly solid knowledge on risk management, access management and cryptography (but more out of my personal fascination with mathematics).

The what

I found the majority of the exam questions clear and concise. Difficult/"intelligent" too in the sense that they really challenged me to think & apply the knowledge of the domains on real-world problems. Instead of diving into many nitty-gritty aspects, the questions required sound understanding of the main concepts. It must be noted that the phrase "A mile wide and an inch deep" is somewhat misleading as this was absolutely not an exam testing generic wisdom on security, but thorough knowledge on concepts like BCM, secure software development, and cost/benefit analysis. "Digging 6 feet deep in one acre" would be a better saying perhaps.

The portion of questions covering comparatively recent topics was much much more than I had anticipated. So do not underestimate topics like mobile/cloud security, IoT, embedded systems, as well as third-party assurance. Superficial understanding only will not suffice, my friend. This would be the bare minimum what you have to know:

https://cccure.training/m/articles/view/CISSP-CBK-2015-WHAT-WAS-ADDED

The how

With the questions of the exam in mind, the applicability/relevance of the books and resources that I have been using is as follows:

Books: