Question about starting a IT career

ITNewbie2ITNewbie2 Member Posts: 53 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hi All,

I was hoping if someone can help me answer some very fundamental questions about starting a career in IT. I have found this site through my IT studies and thinks it's a wonderful resource for knowledge and opinions.

I'm a newbie to the IT world in general. Recently, I have obtained my CCNA and Comptia Network+ certifications. From reading many posts here, I'm what you would call a paper warrior at this point, due to my lack of experience through a job.

I am also working on my Security+ certification, with voucher already purchased, and the exam scheduled within a few weeks.

Since I have never held a job in the IT world, I don't really know what's a considered as a good starting position? Is it help desk? or is it NOC? or a support position working for a ISP? Perhaps Telephony companies like Verizon? Or should I stick to the practical rule of taking whatever I can get?

Should I invest time to get MCSA certified? Many job postings seems to suggest employers want either skills or certifications from both the Networking and Window servers worlds. I enjoy networking a lot during my studies. I don't know much about Window servers, but felt like it's a requirement to get in the door, am I incorrect?

I know hard working and strong ethics will almost carry you anywhere you want to go, but I just wonder where to start? Hope you'd understand.

Thanks,

CJ

Comments

• Dakinggamer87Dakinggamer87 Member Posts: 4,016 ■■■■■■■■□□