Options

GSEC Advice Needed!!

jabjabsjabjabs Registered Users Posts: 3 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello all-

I recently signed up for the SANS GSEC 401 cert. I will be attending the bootcamp in a few weeks. I am very new to the security field. I am currently studying some chapters from the CISSP book that are similar to the topics listed for the cert.

Does anyone have any advice on how I should approach studying and learning the material? I was planning on spending about 2 weeks per book and preparing the index as I read through the material. That will give me a month at the end to take the 2 practice tests and improve my weak areas.

As for my index, I'm planning on having 4 columns, 1. term/concept 2.book 3.page # 4. definition. I also plan on making it very detailed-meaning including all definitions and key concepts. I'm worried that it'll be too long? I don't want to rely on it too much.

Also, is the 5 hours enough to answer all questions and verify each question using the index?

Any advice would be apprecaited! Thanks!

Comments

• Options
    twodogs62twodogs62 Member Posts: 393 ■■■□□□□□□□
    With the test, I think is 160 questions. Do the math. How many minutes is that per question?

i think your process on index sounds good.
    i like putting tabs to separate each section of books so that makes it quicker to find each section.
    I like to highlight in book. I also underline and make notes in books. I like using different colors.

when you say boot camp, I'm assuming you are taking sans class. Even though expensive you should enjoy course as there is tons of information covered.

note you won't have time to look up every question or you will run out of time.

enjoy and best of luck!!!!
  • Options
    wolf9081wolf9081 Member Posts: 61 ■■■□□□□□□□