Options

Passed the 2nd Time

jaandrade3rdjaandrade3rd Member Posts: 14 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi Everyone! I passed the exam Oct 5th. However, as indicated above it was the 2nd time. Previously, I took it on August 6th and failed with a score of 682--I was bummed needless to say. The top 3 domains I did poorly in were Security Engineering, Communication and Network Security, and Software Development Security.

I have 21 years of IT experience with the last 8 concentrating on Information Security. August 2014, I obtained the CompTIA Security+ (SY0-401). A year later (2015) I tried the CISSP exam, studying on and off for the past year with Sharon's and Conrad's books, Transcender's practice exam and Sunflower. I failed but I wouldn't say miserably. I didn't really expect to pass considering the vastness and shallowness of the exam and the many others also succeeding after numerous attempts. So of course, like all others I dusted myself off and hit the books.

I used a number of study materials. But here is the twist, instead of focusing on CISSP directly I took a different route. I obtained the EC-Council CEHv8 then Cisco CCENT (ICND1) during August and September and for the week leading up to the test I read the CISSP 7th edition and perused Sharon's book. The day of the test I glanced over Conrad's 11th Hour. I decided to deviate and obtain those certifications because I recognize the relevance of some of the questions on the August exam to the material covered in the certifications. For example, converting binary to decimal, penetration testing, collision domains and hacking techniques.

These are the tools: