Options

Finally going the cert route... Advice?

RHELRHEL Member Posts: 195 ■■■□□□□□□□
Hey all. I'm starting to seriously think about pursuing some certifications for the first time in my post-college career, and was hoping for some advice.

To give some background, I've been a UNIX/Linux engineer over three different companies over 6 years, growing in responsibility and am now seen a senior level engineer for a mid-sized company -- 6,000 employees & $100M IT budget -- and manage about 500 AIX servers, 30 RHEL, 20 Solaris.

None of my employers have ever really cared a whole lot about certifications; however, I did pick up a couple my first two years on the job out of school just from trying to kill time and because all exams/education were 100% reimbursed. I ended up grabbing CompTIA Linux+, LPI LPIC-1, Novell CLA, a 4-course UNIX certificate from University of Illinois, and also did a full-time masters degree in CIS.

After that two year period, I have not really pursued anything else except going to annual IBM AIX training courses.

That being said, I've now really started to think about what's next in my career. I really feel that a couple Linux and Security certs would be a killer combo with my background and could help propel me to my next steps.

However, the problem is that my current employers doesn't see the value in paying for a RHCSA/RHCE bootcamp as our Linux footprint is so small compared to AIX. I might be able to convince them to pay for the exams, but preparation is going to be on me alone.

Here's what I was thinking over the next year or so:
- RHCSA (I have Jang's book and am pretty well versed on Red Hat, though a little rusty)
- RHCE - I'll need to lab and study a good amount. I can probably work out something w/ my employer to allow me to set up 'test' VMs in our enterprise environment for this purpose.