Passed CISSP exam, go for SSCP to knock off 1 year requirement?

storchstorch Member Posts: 6 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi Everyone,

Last week I passed my CISSP exam but don't meet the required 5 years full time IT security experience to get my full designation. I have over 5 years of IT experience but in various roles mostly as a Systems Admin/Support. My recent role, which I've been in for the past 3 years has been a full time security position. Meaning I'm working with AAA systems, file integrity systems, IDS, IPS, vulnerability management ect..

My sponsor thinks it's best to use this position as my CISSP work experience. Technically I could get away with using my previous experience in a Sys Admin role towards my designation experience but I would not be doing myself any good and the designation would not hold the same weight. So with that in mind, would the SSCP be the best route to go with and knock it off in a month or 2? I studied for about 3 months for the CISSP. I enjoy being on the technical side and working with the equipment rather than implementing policies and governance or creating BC/DR plans.

Comments

• TacoRocketTacoRocket Member Posts: 497 ■■■■□□□□□□
    It's up to you. Security+ would do the same. I see no harm in going for the SSCP
    These articles and posts are my own opinion and do not reflect the view of my employer.

Website gave me error for signature, check out what I've done here: https://pwningroot.com/
  • havoc64havoc64 Member Posts: 213 ■■□□□□□□□□
    I would think the SSCP as a minor (ISC)2 cert would be very similar and easier to pass for you. As for your resume, maybe the CEH would look better... JMHO...
  • storchstorch Member Posts: 6 ■□□□□□□□□□
    I appreciate the response gents, I've followed this site during my preparation for the CISSP and the responses really helped me properly prepare and use the right materials for passing the exam. I'll continue with perusing the SSCP to compliment the CISSP.