Options

Career Change Advice - CDW

kudozkudoz Registered Users Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
I'm in my mid/late 20's and would like to hear your thoughts on a career/industry change to CDW. I currently work as an outside rep making a good living, however the IT industry intrigues me. I would enter as an inside account rep, not making much at first. I'd likely be taking a 50% pay cut and make under $50k for my first two years. However, I am betting on myself to be very successful and for it to pay off financially in 5 years.

My goal is to eventually work for a solid vendor as a career move (VMWare, Microsoft etc.) and will be using CDW as a stepping stone to get there. Although I would be okay with making $100k at CDW in 5 years.

I'm tempted to get into the IT industry as a SDR at a software company. However, selling one companies software would most likely not provide a stepping stone to companies such Microsoft because I would not have experience selling their products.

I can financially afford it and willing to bet on myself. I just want to ensure that I am not making a stupid move. Does anyone have experience working at CDW? What doors does working at CDW offer?

Comments

• Options
    kudozkudoz Registered Users Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
    what can be some next steps for an account manager at a VAR (besides management)?
  • Options
    joelsfoodjoelsfood Member Posts: 1,027 ■■■■■■□□□□
    I haven't worked there myself, but CDW is always rated well in workplace satisfaction surveys, etc. They're also one of the big resellers out there, so I don't think it will do anything but help your career.