Options

Help understanding troubleshooting

vinnypolstonvinnypolston Member Posts: 53 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hi guys! I'm currently studying to re-take the A+ exam (I have the 700 series cert). I've been professionally in IT for 10 years now.. but never pursued a degree. My plans is to take the 900 series as soon as it's released. After that I am going to apply to WGU for my bachelors. Beyond excited. I wanted to share my study notes with you guys. I'm not the world's #1 authority by any means.. but I hope these help :)

The notes are kind of hard to read here on the forums. If you want an easier to read version click here.
icon_study.gif

On the new 220-902 objectives CompTIA outlines their six steps to troubleshooting. After you read this section you will understand 220-902 section 5.5, given a scenario, explain the troubleshooting theory.
Let’s begin.

Introduction to Troubleshooting

CompTIA outlines their six step troubleshooting theory in the exam objectives. These six steps include:

1. Identify the problem.
  2. Establish a theory of probable cause.
  3. Test the theory to determine cause.
  4. Establish a plan of action to resolve the problem and implement the solution.
  5. Verify full system functionality and if applicable implement preventative measures.
  6. Document findings, actions, and outcomes.

As a computer technician; the majority of your job has to deal with troubleshooting. A good troubleshooter takes a logical plan for identifying the problem and resolving the issue. This is your foundation for anything troubleshooting related; regardless if it is hardware or software.

It is also important to always consider if there are corporate policies before making changes.
If possible, always perform a backup before attempting to fix any software problems.

Let’s break these six steps down using an example scenario.
Step 1: Identify the problem