Options

Should I accept/reject the job offer

kbpatilkbpatil Member Posts: 23 ■□□□□□□□□□
I have been offered a job position in the Bay Area - Santa Clara as an Information Security analyst. I have about 4 years of INformation Security experience. I have GCIA degree and giving GCIH in upcoming months. I have been offered the following package(Its temporary for now):

1. 95000 base salary
2. 9-10% bonus every year
3. 850 RSY (Restricted stock options) for 4 years (Current stock price is around $85).

I am a little skeptical if I would be able to save as I am right now in texas as the bay area is pretty costly. Also I am not sure if the RSU should be that important or should I focus on increasing the base salary and reducing the RSU's.

ANy suggestions are welcome.

Comments

• Options
    markulousmarkulous Member Posts: 2,394 ■■■■■■■■□□
    How does it compare to your salary now? Also, does this bring more opportunities for you and your career? 95k is nice but depending on what area of Texas you are in, housing is doubled in that area.

I really want to go back to California because I grew up around there but if I didn't, it'd take A LOT to get me to move to that area due to the cost.
  • Options
    networker050184networker050184 Mod Posts: 11,962 Mod
    Tough to say without knowing more details. No way I'd move to the Bay Area for that kind of money, but maybe I'm at a much further place in my career than you. You are the only one that knows your lifestyle and what you can survive off. Are you single? Big car payments? Kids? Like to go out a lot? Buy expensive toys?

You can certainly live off 95k in the area though.
    An expert is a man who has made all the mistakes which can be made.
  • Options