Options

How to start the journey?

IgroIgro Member Posts: 17 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello everybody! This is my first post and I'm glad I found this forum!

I'm moving toward finishing my degree in IT & Business. But the problem is that all the courses I've had so far are not "in-depth". I'm aware that specific knowledge i have to gain myself. So I got CCNA Routing and Switching cert this way. But that is not enough. Many employers ask for good knowledge in servers too (HyperV, Active Directory, Exchange and so on). I have zero experience in this field. I bought a book MCSA 70-410 Cert Guide R2: Installing and Configuring Windows Server 2012 (Cert Guides) by Don Poulton, but was shocked how complicated it is from the start. A few pages and all those new notions that i never heard and they are not even explained there! Command start from the start too. Are you system engineers know all those commands? Are you really working with command lines only like in Core version (as opposed to GUI version)?

What books will explain from scratch what are servers and how they work? That is the most basics. The book after reading which I can jump to the next book I bought already (MCSA 70-410 Cert Guide R2: Installing and Configuring Windows Server 2012 (Cert Guides) by Don Poulton)

Thank you very much!:)

Comments

• Options
    ed_003ed_003 Member Posts: 216
    Good question.. lots of book assume u have experience. Some books give u an introduction in a section called "who should read this book"
  • Options
    poolmanjimpoolmanjim Member Posts: 285 ■■■□□□□□□□
    If you are absolutely, 100% new to the world of servers, I would first recommend you start labbing to figure out what stuff is and how it works together on the most basic level. Configure a file server, setup shares, connect to those shares, etc.

You asked for reading material to help you along so here are a couple of suggestions... Actually one suggestion and then something to consider.

Introducing Server 2012 R2 (Free)