Options

Recruiter rant

CherperCherper Member Posts: 140 ■■■□□□□□□□
Recently I have been approached by a couple of recruiters for positions. When asked about current salary, I have given them an answer along the lines of I am currently underpaid for my qualifications as I work in the public sector. Then when discussing compensation for the position, they say that the companies in question are loathe to start people out with more than about a 10% increase. What gives?

A new employer is basing my salary on what I made before is not happening. I told one of the recruiters that my current salary has no bearing on a future position, that I would be negotiating the salary based on the position and the going rate of the area. She insisted that the company would want to know my current salary to base what they pay me on. I explained that while my monetary compensation was lower than the going rate, my benefits made up for that. I currently get 17.5 days of paid vacation, that goes to 20 days in January. I get 15 day paid sick leave and 11 paid holidays. I also am able to carry 6 weeks of vacation time on the books. All of those things would factor into what I would be willing to accept in a new positions salary.

Don't these people make their money based on placement and salary? Anybody seen this? I talk to headhunters all the time and it has only been in the past two weeks that I have heard this.
Studying and Reading:

Whatever strikes my fancy...

Comments

• Options
    networker050184networker050184 Mod Posts: 11,962 Mod
    If a company feels that way then find one that doesn't. You don't want to work for a place like that anyway.
    An expert is a man who has made all the mistakes which can be made.
  • Options
    CherperCherper Member Posts: 140 ■■■□□□□□□□
    I agree. I didn't go any farther with the process, but have never had that happen until two weeks ago, and then yesterday.
    Studying and Reading:

Whatever strikes my fancy...
  • Options