Options

Still no job after getting CCENT. Soon to get CCNA in december.

PheonyxPheonyx Member Posts: 48 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hey everyone,

I've been having a really hard time getting a job after passing my CCENT in August of 2015. I know that's only entry level but I thought I would at least be able to snag a Jr. network admin position. The only thing I ever get offered are basic IT support jobs and I've been doing that since 2010-2012 roughly. I also have an AA degree in computer info. systems.

I plan on getting my CCNA next month, or January at the latest, but now I find myself questioning if it would even change anything. I'm really passionate about network engineering so I'm most likely still going to push forward and get the CCNA but I'm just having a hard time and was hoping someone could shed some light on my situation.

To make matters worse, all employers seem so strict and up-tight about every little aspect of my personal life and background. I'm not a felon at all. The worse thing I did was smoke weed in high school (possession ticket) and 1 petty theft when I was 18 (I'm now 28 but it's still on my record which is total bull-*******-**** if you ask me). How is someone supposed to live a happy life if they can't get a job that pays them enough to live a clean and easy-going life? I've done everything the system has asked of me and still I get stiffed. I'm so frustrated....sorry for venting, I just hope someone here is nice enough to tell me what I'm missing maybe....thanks

Comments

• Options
    SimridSimrid Member Posts: 327
    Well, look on the bright side - You're now studying towards a well respected certification which will benefit you massively.

I am 19, I am studying for my CCNP. When I had my CCENT I couldn't find a job either, I think the CCNA is the crucial bit to get if i'm honest. I actually landed my job a day before my CCNA exam which was a mental few days but all good fun. Keep cracking on.