Options

IT Auditor career path

synchronisesynchronise Registered Users Posts: 1 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi all,
I'm interested in pursuing a postgraduate degree to enhance my career that can widen my exposure and give me a boost in climbing the corporate ladder.

Educational background:
I graduate with Computer engineering degree, passed CISA, CISM, CHFI, CISSP.

Working experience:
Currently, I am an Assistant Vice President with a bank, conducting IT audit over both application and infrastructure controls. I've a total of 6-7 years of IT audit experience.

Problem:
I am lost in which disciplines of master degree should I take up to benefit my career. I've interest in all the following:

- Master of Computing (InfoSec) - NUS
Is it useful to study indepth InfoSec theories for IT auditor? Since I have CISM, CISSP, are these cert enough for me to perform Cyber security audit competently?

- Master of Science in Accountancy - NTU
Accountancy allows me to better appreciate the business language and give me more chances to conduct business audits for the bank.

- Master of Applied Finance - Uni of Adelaide
As I worked in a bank, the finance theory will give me more understanding about the banking processes which I lacked of.
Moreover the knowledge gained could also benefit myself for self investing.

- MBA - Uni of strathclyde
MBA gives me a general overview on the business fields

Any It auditor who has been in my current position b4, could u advise me what u would have done if u were me?

Comments

• Options
    OctalDumpOctalDump Member Posts: 1,722
    I am not working in Info Sec, and never have been in your particular position. However, I have similar dilemma facing me in how to augment my technical skills to move into more strategic focus roles. So, I have been looking at many Master degree programs in IT Info Sec and Management.