Options

250-513 Symantec DLP passed

gespensterngespenstern Member Posts: 1,243 ■■■■■■■■□□
Tough one. I managed to fail it on my first attempt scoring 51% with passing bar set on 72%. Attempting exam costs $225 and retake costs 50% of this sum.

There are lots of preparation weeklong boot camps across the US (costs around $4000) and some virtual class bootcamps, but since I'm a consultant on a contract nobody reimburses me, so I usually take self-preparation approach. Thankfully, Symantec has a lot of great free videos on their eLibrary (enrolling to their educational web portal is a bit of a challenge) and a pretty good documentation.

So I watched the videos (~50 lessons from 10 to 60 minutes long each) and thought that my security experience, previous experience with other DLP products and Symantec DLP deployment experience (currently I'm in a policies fine tuning phase) in large enterprise will lead me to a pass. Nope.

Exam is heavily detail oriented, in-depth technical and sometimes "gotcha" style relying on tips and tricks that aren't even covered in videos. So on my second attempt I had to read through documentation (several pdf documents, the main one "admin guide" is 1500 pages long) and pay attention to tips, various "gotcha" exclusions and limitations.

Today I passed with 85% however I wasn't sure if I'm passing, I thought I'm not going to pass. What a relief!

Hard to tell what ROI will I have for this exam, but this product seems to be pretty popular among large businesses, hopefully there's some demand. I invested a lot of my time into this, I'd say much more than I expected from a pretty rare and not very popular vendor exam.

Also, exam is for 12.5 version. While they released DLP version 14.0 and just recently released videos for 14.0, there's no exam yet for 14.0, but there's not much difference between 12.5 and 14.0. They may release a new version of the exam soon.

Comments

• Options
    DAVIS NGUYENDAVIS NGUYEN Member Posts: 1,472 ■■■□□□□□□□