Options

Online certificate worth it?

on the maton the mat Member Posts: 11 ■□□□□□□□□□
My background is in finance and I've been doing it for about a decade and I'm growing tired of it. I decided I want to switch to IT and looked into an online program through UCLA Extension in Systems Analysis. The program covers database management, SQL, some networking, and some programming. The program costs about $7k. The price tag is pretty steep and I was wondering if with my Finance degree could I just get certifications in lieu of the formal education to make the transition? I am looking to go into Systems Administration. I have my A+ currently and I was thinking of doing N+ and MTA server and database also. I also have some experience with Python and VBA. Basically just want to see if the education is necessary. I'm worried without formal education I'd come off as a paper warrior.

Comments

• Options
    markulousmarkulous Member Posts: 2,394 ■■■■■■■■□□
    You don't have to have an IT degree to be successful. The fact that you have a degree is good and you can always go for a MS in IT down the road. You can definitely get certs and try to get entry-level positions to build up your experience and you'll be fine.

Do you want to work heavily with databases? If your wanting to be a Windows Systems Admin, you're not going to have to necessarily need DBA-type knowledge. If you're interested in it then go for it, but I think you'd benefit more from going towards a MCSA than a database cert.

I have no knowledge of that course so I can't vouch for how good the material is, but doesn't sound like it has any "Systems Admin" courses at all, it's for a DBA. Now if you want to be a DBA, then that does sound pretty good. I would think that the MCSA for SQL would be the route to go, otherwise go for 2012.
  • Options
    on the maton the mat Member Posts: 11 ■□□□□□□□□□