Options

Newbie seeking career/ certification advice

Phillies8607Phillies8607 Member Posts: 83 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hey guys,

I'm seeking some career advice and some guidance on certificates/ bachelors degree.

Currently, I do not have any certifications nor do I have a degree. However, I have been working for a major ISP for the last 10 years as a service tech/ installer out in the field. At first I strictly worked on the residential side, but for the last 4 years I have been installing commercial services in small to medium sized businesses. Since then I have developed quite an interest in networking and WAN and LAN technologies and recently have decided to change my career and pursue a job in networking/ IT. Additionally, I have enrolled at Wilmington University for cybersecurity this fall and start this spring. Its probably going to take me 4 years attending classes part time in order to finish my bachelors.

So my question is, should I pursue any certificates while I am studying for my bachelors? This way i cold get a head start and maybe get a new job while I am in school. And if so, which certificates would be advantageous? I was thinking of starting with Comptia A+ and N+ and then maybe CCNA. Not sure which CCNA yet...maybe R&S, Service Provider, or Collaboration. If you’re not familiar with collaboration, it is a new course combining video and voice.

Also, what about Microsoft certs? These certs sound more geared towards a computer repair tech rather a networking technician

Anyways, thanks for any input. It is much appreciated!!

Comments

• Options
    thatguy67thatguy67 Member Posts: 344 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Yes, I would get certs while working on your degree. The sooner you have your certs and degree, the sooner you can get a job and begin getting professional experience.