Options

IT Degree and Career Questions

mb2707mb2707 Registered Users Posts: 3 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi, longtime lurker first time poster.

I currently work as a BA doing requirements writing and testing for an internal software project at a Fortune 500 company. I have a Bachelor's in Mathematics, and am looking to move away from my BA position in the next 2-3 years. It's good experience, just not my long term thing.

I have been looking heavily at WGU's Bachelor's in IT and then Master's in IT Management. I have programming knowledge and background from several courses in college. I am unsure if I'd want to go towards networking, security, or a different concentration. I am worried about three main things with which maybe some people with experience can assist me.

My current company does have some IT positions open, though many are management level I wouldn't qualify for. When I look in my market (large southern U.S. city), I don't see a lot of postings by companies but rather a whole lot of postings by recruiters and "IT firms". Are these firms like recruiting firms that simply exist as resume collectors or are there usually actual positions attached to them?

If my long term goals were to work in a technical capacity for 5-10 years and then move into an IT manager/management position, would this path through WGU with the Bachelor's and Master's set me up for that?

What is ageism like in IT, particularly higher up in the management chain? I don't want to get booted from a management spot at age 50 because I'm either too expensive or because of ageism.

Thanks so much for reading and any advice you can provide.

Comments

• Options
    PolynomialPolynomial Member Posts: 365
    Do NOT get another Bachelor's. I too have a BS in Math and went for a MS in IT Management. Don't need another Bachelor's.

While I feel slightly ridiculous even typing this out transitioning to management is actually a best practice of avoiding the "ageism" thing in tech these days.
  • Options