Options

Passed! 12/12/2015. Some tips

aaronandshagaaronandshag Registered Users Posts: 1 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi, First time poster here. I've lurked on this forum for a while and wanted to write up my method. I also used this forum for passing the Security+ exam but did not write about it, as it isn't quite as extreme or broad.

As a precursor, I have around 2 years of dedicated Security Ops experience, and other computer/tech experience for about 5 years. College graduate with a bachelors in IT.

Here is some information on what I have done to study to pass this exam without a bootcamp etc. Here are some resources.

· Set a date, If you don’t set a date there’s no goal. ($600 for the exam) Set it like 4-5 months out. Realizing you’ll lose all the money you put into it and fail is an overwhelming incentive to study hard.
· I don’t have a family or children to obligate to, so that gave me a LOT more study time.
· I didn’t play video games or computer games hardly at all, this was now my life until it was over.

· Shon Harris All in One study guide: ($60) This one is the boxed set with separate questions. Take notes on stuff that you would have a hard time remembering for review later. I Read the whole thing cover to cover (but it’s not necessary). Notice there are even newer books with newer questions as well on Amazon. I did all the review tests/questions/answers in both books. I also did many of the practice questions with the included CD.
· Cybrary.it: (Free! I donated $20) ~16 Hours of video. Kelly Handerhan is amazing. What she talks about what to focus on and what NOT to focus on is SPOT ON. Take notes! Review them. Cybrary’s App is great for Tablets with Autoplay to the next video.
· Sunflower PDF: Great resource on reviewing the basics.
· 11th Hour CISSP: (~$9.00/Mo for Kindle app rental/read.amazon.com) Great book to rent a month before the exam to read on your tablet and take notes.