Options

Linux+ or CCIE Wireless?

LeisureSuitLarryLeisureSuitLarry Member Posts: 78 ■■□□□□□□□□
The title probably sounds odd, but here's my situation and thoughts: I've been out of IT for a while, and I'm looking for something entry level. I finished my CCENT and I'm currently studying for CCNA-Wireless. I really enjoy wireless technology, and I would like to keep going up the Cisco ladder. On the other hand, I also enjoy Linux, and at this point a job is a job is a job.

I'm going to do one of two things next: 1) Start studying for CCIE-Wireless. I expect about two years of home study before being in a position to take the written exam. Hopefully within that time I find a position that allows me to work with the technology, or 2) Study Linux+ first, and then pick back up on Cisco with the CCIE-Wireless studying.

Option 1 certainly has no immediate payoff. But then I'm not sure if option 2 will either. I've already got two entry level certs, and a third may be helpful in job hunting. But in the end, Cisco wireless is what I want to focus on.

Comments

• Options
    networker050184networker050184 Mod Posts: 11,962 Mod
    I'd say find a job first and see where that leads you. In 2+ years time you might not be doing anything to do with wireless.
    An expert is a man who has made all the mistakes which can be made.
  • Options
    I'd say find a job first and see where that leads you. In 2+ years time you might not be doing anything to do with wireless.

Right now I'd lay brick walkways. But I won't keep doing that forever. Eventually I'm going to move into wireless, regardless of what else I've done. Just not sure how long it'll take to work my way in.
  • Options
    markulousmarkulous Member Posts: 2,394 ■■■■■■■■□□
    Why are you skipping the CCNP? Also, how much experience do you have in networking? Seeing someone with a CCIE and not much relevant experience would be a big red flag to me.