Options

HelpDesks Administrator

aschenbecheraschenbecher Member Posts: 27 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hi

I had phone interview with a Help-desk manager of a IT Dept of a State govt.

He wants me to come in for interview tomorrow for a position of Help-desk Administrator.
He told me this position involves managing team of Help-desk technician who would be escalating issues to me.

I have never been in a management or team lead role. I have no freaking clue what i am suppose to do ??

Not to mention, I just have a A+. He didn't ask me if i had any server, coding or networking experience.
I know the basics but i am no expert.

Also , this job is 1 hr drive.

Should i even try to go for interview ?

Comments

• Options
    bumgbumg Member Posts: 7 ■□□□□□□□□□
    My suggestion would be to use the interview as an opportunity to learn new things and help you possibly gain a better position. At the very least it would help give you more experience with interviews and would help give you insight into a potential advancement. You made it through the phone interview so that shows that they are at least interested in you to a certain degree. Granted, if it isn't for you, then only you can make that determination. Good luck either way.
  • Options
    scaredoftestsscaredoftests Mod Posts: 2,780 Mod
    Go to the interview, though I'd want to get paid well if I had to go for an hour's drive. Make sure to check if it's shift work. Good luck...
    Never let your fear decide your fate....
  • Options
    UncleBUncleB Member Posts: 417
    I have never been in a management or team lead role. I have no freaking clue what i am suppose to do ??

Not to mention, I just have a A+. He didn't ask me if i had any server, coding or networking experience.
    I know the basics but i am no expert.

Also , this job is 1 hr drive.

Should i even try to go for interview ?