Options

Please Advise

kkeopraditkkeopradit Registered Users Posts: 4 ■□□□□□□□□□
I recently got fired from my job as a help desk tech because a big time client complained about me and it truly was not my fault. The problem is I was there only for 3 months and in those three months I learned a lot and some of the legitimate skills i learned from that job are strongly desired by employers. Should i even put this on my resume? I'm worried because although i do have IT experience, it was 4 years ago and the last maybe 3 years i worked in retail. That help desk job was my attempt to get back into IT and like i said, my technical abilities I picked up during those 3 months are real but worried that 3 months on a resume will put me in the trash pile. Can someone please advise thanks.

Comments

• Options
    OctalDumpOctalDump Member Posts: 1,722
    Do you have anything to lose by trying? If you put it on a resume, then it is something. Maybe it will be harder to get interviews, but you will likely still get interviews.
    2017 Goals - Something Cisco, Something Linux, Agile PM
  • Options
    Thanks for the response. I'm in the Northern Virginia area and it's very competitive to even land an interview at all.
  • Options
    Chev ChelliosChev Chellios Member Posts: 343 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Definitely go for it dude, it's all about selling yourself!

I was in a similar position years ago, it sucks horrendously but you have to get out there and back on the wagon, use previous references or whatever but sell the skills you have mate. Good luck, and these forums are great for help and advice!
  • Options
    UncleBUncleB Member Posts: 417
    You could put it on your CV and pretend you still work for them and you don't want then contacted for a reference as it could get you sacked.