Options

Can I get a jobg with my poor experience ?

jagehundjagehund Member Posts: 6 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi all, If i grab a CCNA cert can I get a real network job? I mean I've been working with cisco routers for 6 years now.
My job is to ugrade IOS version on many different cisco routers/switches and sometimes we configure the startup-config through CLI. But that is very basic config like passwords, hostname, vlans interface and ip address, nothing more. Thats all I'm configuering to these routers/switches. After the configuration we ship these devices to end-costumers.

The experience I have, even if it isnt something advanced, does It mean that I've have cisco experience, or do I have to be in the real field and so on? Do you think that with my experience and a CCNA can get a real networking job on the field?

Comments

• Options
    OctalDumpOctalDump Member Posts: 1,722
    Yes, it is entirely possible. Your experience isn't worthless. A CCNA is pretty significant. You might have to still start near entry level, but if you do well, I am sure you could have a career in networking.
    2017 Goals - Something Cisco, Something Linux, Agile PM
  • Options
    volfkhatvolfkhat Member Posts: 1,049 ■■■■■■■■□□
    You can get an entry networking gig withOUT the ccna; so i definitly think you can do it WITH one :]

Do you have actual knowledge in networking THEORY?
    that's the better question.

If Not, go Learn it :]

I usually Roll-my-eyes at Comptia... but their Network+ (n10-005) content was actually worthwhile.
    Go subscribe to Professor Messer and get that Knowledge.

from there, either
    A)
    Study for the exam, and get the network+ certification. I think that will guarantee that you find something.
    Using Prof Messer, it took me 10 weeks (start to finish), and i went at a sloow pace.

or B)
    Don't take the Exam. Instead, go straight for the ICND1 & 2 (for your ccna).

Don't doubt yourself.... enjoy the journey :]
  • Options