Options

number of exams for MCSA/MCSE? etc.

tsaitsai Registered Users Posts: 1 ■□□□□□□□□□
I am studying to take MCSA/MCSE. I was wondering how many exams these certificates have, I've did some research and its never a solid answer. I believe MCSA is between 2-5 exams and MCSE, 7, or unless if MCSA is completed 3-4? If someone can give me a straight and specific answer, would be most helpful. This is my first step in the educational direction of IT, I have a year of data center under my belt. Will getting these certificates help me in getting me a job?

Thank you in advance for your advice.

Comments

• Options
    techfiendtechfiend Member Posts: 1,481 ■■■■□□□□□□
    The last time I looked at certs that interested me, the MCSA desktop was 2, the rest were 3. MCSE was 2 additional tests.

They're very marketable certs. They won't guarantee a job but they'll likely set you apart from the competition esp MCSE.
    2018 AWS Solutions Architect - Associate (Apr) 2017 VCAP6-DCV Deploy (Oct) 2016 Storage+ (Jan)
    2015 Start WGU (Feb) Net+ (Feb) Sec+ (Mar) Project+ (Apr) Other WGU (Jun) CCENT (Jul) CCNA (Aug) CCNA Security (Aug) MCP 2012 (Sep) MCSA 2012 (Oct) Linux+ (Nov) Capstone/BS (Nov) VCP6-DCV (Dec) ITILF (Dec)
  • Options
    OctalDumpOctalDump Member Posts: 1,722
    It depends on the MCSA and MCSE. All of the MCSEs are MCSA + 2 exams. That is to say, you complete an MCSA (1-3 exams) and then do 2 more exams to attain MCSE. There is in some cases a possibility to take other paths, but I am not aware of any path which would actually decrease the number of exams needed.

The Windows Server MCSAs are 3 exams. They lead to MCSE in Server Infrastructure, Private Cloud and Desktop Infrastructure. The Desktop Infrastructure is being retired soon, effectively replaced by MCSE Enterprise Devices and Apps (below).

The SQL Server MCSAs are also 3 exams. They lead to MCSE in Business Intelligence or Data Platform.