Options

Acquired CCNA R&S, no networking experince, what now?

pujan96pujan96 Member Posts: 121 ■■■□□□□□□□
Hi all.

After a bit of a struggle I have managed to attain my CCNA cert.

My question is what do I move onto to try and pave the steps for a successful network engineering career.

Unfortunately my previous years of employment are not IT related let alone anything to do with networking as I used to be a vehicle technician.

At this moment in time however I have my CCNA along with two months experience in IT ( working for an apple store diagnosing and repairing macs). I'm also 20 at the moment if that helps, hence the career change as I thought I might as well look for something better whilst I'm still young.

I know a CCNA alone is pretty much useless without the relevant hands on industry experience but what I don't know is how to get it and what to do from here. I plan on working my way up through the CCNP and hopefully To CCIE but I don't want to start it till I have relevant hands on experience.

Now that I have a CCNA should I start to apply for jobs? And if so what kind?
Should I stay at apple in hardware repair for a year to get at least a years IT experience?
Are there any goals I should set for the next couple of years to set me on my network engineer path?.

Any feedback will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks
Pujan
[X] CCNA R&S

[X] CCNP Route 300-101
[  ] CCNP Switch 300-115
[  ] CCNP T-Shoot 300-135

[  ]  NPDESI 300-550

[  ] CCIE R&S Written
[  ] CCIE R&S LAB

Comments

• Options
    capwapcapwap Member Posts: 34 ■■□□□□□□□□
    Sounds like you're on the right path. Just stay at the Apple store until you find something else. In the mean time, put out applications for help desk jobs where you'd be troubleshooting things more related to networking, junior NOC positions, anything more related to networking than what you're doing now. And just baby step your way up the ladder.
  • Options
    kohr-ahkohr-ah Member Posts: 1,277