Options

At crossroads in career, desperate for solid advice. Please.

throwawayaccont1throwawayaccont1 Registered Users Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
TL;DR I want to make more money and shift my specialization, but I'm afraid to leave my comfy easy job. Considering Military, considering quitting my job. Please help.

I apologize ahead of time if this gets kind of long, I will try to keep it as simple as possible and include all variables.

Background: I just turned 31 and I've been working in IT since 2007. I make a comfortable $73k working primary in a Windows Client/Server environment. I am the administrator of SCCM (~1000 client environment) and joint-admin for Active Directory and a bunch of other Windows Server technologies. I have my B.S. in IT as well as about 10 certifications, including CISSP, CCNA, some MCTS and a bunch of CompTIAs.

The problem I'm facing is, due to the nature of state government, I can't really get more pay at my job unless I get into management. I am not really interested in managing people, as I love the technology.

I want to make $115k+, but I'm not really sure how to go about doing it. I really love Cisco/networking and would like to become a badass Network Engineer, but again, I'm not really sure of the best way to do it.

These are some things swirling around in my head:

• Most highly paid IT professionals that I've come across have a security clearance and military experience.
  • Maybe I should join the Air National Guard as a 3d1x2 and get a Top Secret Clearance and extra experience on the side.
  • But maybe I won't get enough experience just in the Guard, maybe I should straight up join the active Air Force and just bust my ass for 4 years and get as much experience as I can. I could finish my CCNP before I even enter, and start on my CCIE during my enlistment. Get out, finish my CCIE. The age-limit is now 39 after all, so this is feasible.