Options

Unmotivated to study/obtain cert due to lack of experience

NoNameNoobNoNameNoob Member Posts: 33 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hey everyone just looking for some general input, this is my first post.

I spent the majority of last year searching for an IT job with my A+ cert alone. I finally was able to find a help desk job and began at the start of this year. Unfortunately 9 months in i was laid off. Ive been shooting out resumes for the past 2 months, just looking to get back into help desk with the same salary, just looking to pad the resume with time. With only 9 months on my resume i feel getting any type of cert at this point is a waste of time because im destined for help desk again. If i go for the ccent or mcsa i really dont think it will provide a better job opportunity when the HR person see's 9 months. When the job posting for non help desk is already requesting 3-5 years of experience. The only upside i can see to this, is that the cert last 3 years, and after 2 years i could jump ship from help desk and i already have my cert to pursue a promotion lol.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated

Comments

• Options
    networker050184networker050184 Mod Posts: 11,962 Mod
    Well, with that attitude no one would ever move up quickly. I've been given all of my opportunities by showing I'm motivated and eager to learn not so much that I already have years experience doing the job. With about a year under your belt, a nice resume, a cert or two and some good interviewing skills I don't see why you can't at least take a bit of a step up. Self motivate because no one else cares about your career.
    An expert is a man who has made all the mistakes which can be made.
  • Options
    jamesleecolemanjamesleecoleman Member Posts: 1,899 ■■■■■□□□□□