Options

Help deciding between two positions guys!

and1play5and1play5 Member Posts: 18 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hey all,

Just got my ccna a few weeks back and have been applying like a mad man. I'm being brought in for two interviews next week.
Position 1:A network engineer position at a university, mainly a cisco shop but they are in the midst of transitioning to juniper equipment. (I used to work here a few years back as a system admin but at a different campus) $55k.

Position 2: A junior linux/devops engineer at a startup. A lot of Red Hat Linux and AWS. $50k.

I haven't had any "real" networking experience as far as using routers and switches and would def like to get my feet wet in that realm, but I also feel this linux/devops opportunity could be big for me down the line.
The university job would require me driving, whereas the startup job would consist of taking the train to the city. As someone who's just starting out, what do you guys think? I'm also a student at wgu IT-Sec and will be finishing by may.

Comments

• Options
    networker050184networker050184 Mod Posts: 11,962 Mod
    I'd go the start up personally. Dev ops skills are great to get right now and start up work culture in the city is nice and full of perks. Keep in mind the stability factor of course. Especially if you have family.
    An expert is a man who has made all the mistakes which can be made.
  • Options
    dave330idave330i Member Posts: 2,091 ■■■■■■■■■■
    I'd go with the startup as well. You end up doing a lot of different things at a startup.
    2018 Certification Goals: Maybe VMware Sales Cert
    "Simplify, then add lightness" -Colin Chapman
  • Options
    PolynomialPolynomial Member Posts: 365
    Location NJ/NYC? Start up. No question. Even if it fails take that experience and go double your salary.
  • Options