Options

Work from Home entry jobs?

rocherkissrocherkiss Registered Users Posts: 3 ■□□□□□□□□□
Attending online uni for an associates in CS then transferring to WGU for bachelors in Software Development. No formal experience or training previously - all self taught. Worked as tech support for a real estate agency, junkyard, and gas station and well as working at Staples from 2008-2009 as easytech associate with a few months as easy resident tech. Unfortunately I was in school at the time and unable to dedicate my time to the job as much as the end so I quit. My boss was extremely angry at me and whenever another employer called to verify my dates of employment he told them that I was unreliable. So I hesitate to use them as a reference due to this problem. I am totally unsure of what to do here. I am currently a co-webmaster for a gaming hub and am assisting in the development of a couple of games on Kongregate. I am also creating my own games to post on github and upload to Kongregate to help with my portfolio. I did host a Legend of the Green Dragon gaming site from 2007-2008 as owner & coder. I was also the admin/coder for a few other sites but none of them are active anymore and the positions were not paid. Could this even count as experience in PHP?

I need advice on this situation because I have nobody in my life that is able to offer my any sort of advice at all about this. I love developing programs (especially games) but honestly I love any sort of programming. I feel I could be happy working in any and all languages and am when not working my 13 hour shifts at the hospitals I am studying my coding courses or gaining a base in other languages from various websites.

I have no clue how to continue from here for experience on my resume. I am in dire need of assistance!

Thank you!!

Comments

• Options
    I forgot to add - would a remote help desk position be of any assistance in this matter or should I continue my game development and webmastering?