Options

Should I get my certifications as a student? (Resume Advice)

SweeceSweece Member Posts: 15 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello there,

This is my first post to the forum. My question is, should I start getting my certifications now as an undergrad student while I'm still in school? Basically, I am trying to look for an internship in IT for this summer. Unfortunately, I have no experience and really nothing to offer on my resume to set me above the rest. I am really interested in IT and more specifically, Network Engineering. My career goal is to be a Network Engineer, but right now I am just another student with zero experience. Will having certifications on my resume increase my chance of being hired? I know I need experience to get an entry level job, but right now I am struggling to even get that experience. Any advice or direction helps. Thanks.

Comments

• Options
    FayzFayz Member Posts: 118 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Nothing can replace experience. Certifications can help in your situation, but it should not be the only source to get a job. In your case it could help but many jobs these days ask for experience. You could try to get the CCNA and it could slightly improve the chances of you getting a job, but its not a sure thing. Try to volunteer on the side if no one is calling you up that way you can put that on your resume and they will see you are doing something and you will be getting experience. If I was you I would try to get the Network+ and CCNA before you graduate, get any internship networking related even if it is non paid. You could come off with learning a lot and get professional references at the end. It is also essential that you try to get as much experience as you can before you graduate. So always be on the hunt for IT related internships, part time jobs, work study jobs, etc.
  • Options
    UncleBUncleB Member Posts: 417