Options

Advice For New Network Engineer

Hi all,
So it's not official yet but looks like I'm getting promoted into a Network Engineer position. I'm currently a technician (hybrid systems and network) for the same department so I'm already familiar with the environment. I just wanted to get some advice on how to start off strong and continue to become the best network engineer that I can be. I knocked out my CCNA a few months ago and obtained my CCENT, A+ and Net+ before that. I've just finished reading the Network Warrior and I've been studying for CCNP Switch ever since I passed the CCNA. My current plan is to keeping going to CCIE R&S along with some other Cisco certs and eventually get a MBA and switch over to the business side (like 15+ years down the road).

So any tips, advice, and book recommendations that will help me become a great network engineer would be appreciated. :D

Comments

• Options
    networker050184networker050184 Mod Posts: 11,962 Mod
    Biggest problem I see with new engineers is they never think long term. Think supportability, think scale, think about Joe Schmoe who will log in and troubleshoot it without knowing what you were thinking when you engineered it. Keep it simple. Too many times people come up with one off, complicated solutions to problems. Just because something technically works doesn't mean it should be done. Really the reason experienced is so highly valued in this industry. Think like a vet from the start and don't learn the hard way!

Good luck!
    An expert is a man who has made all the mistakes which can be made.
  • Options
    jdancerjdancer Member Posts: 482 ■■■■□□□□□□
    If you don't know Wireshark, I suggest you learn it. It's great for packet capture and analysis.
  • Options
    IristheangelIristheangel Mod Posts: 4,133 Mod
    Here's a couple things: