Options

Suggestions/Reality Check For Former IT Professional Hoping To Return To The Field

mj30250mj30250 Member Posts: 19 ■■■□□□□□□□
Hello, all.

I used to work in IT, shifting through various roles including Systems Admin (Windows based), Network Engineer and Software Developer (most often a mix of two or three at once). I'm looking to get back into technology, as it's really where my passion lies. However, my large, and seemingly insurmountable challenge is: I haven't worked in IT professionally for over 10 years. Based on some moderate attempts at applying to jobs, those 10 years seem to render my 6+ years of experience useless to anyone reviewing my resume.

In an effort to try to gain some attention from potential employers, I have obtained my A+, CCNA and am currently working towards my CCNP (I've passed ROUTE thus far). Clearly, I am hoping to find a role with a networking focus, but I am worried that I may be wasting my time here based on my salary requirements. I absolutely cannot afford a salary that would qualify to most as entry-level. I make a reasonably good living now, but unfortunately, it has nothing to do with IT, and I truly can't see myself working in my current field (outside business-to-business sales/account management) for the remainder of my working lifetime. I need a change.

I am willing to sacrifice a reasonable amount of pay in order to return to IT, with the expectation that I will be able achieve my current level of compensation without it taking more than a couple of years, but that sacrifice can only be so large.

To cut to the chase, at bare minimum I'm looking to be around $65k per year. Certainly, the higher the better, but that is about as little as I could reasonably live with in the short-term. I live in New Jersey (about 20 miles northeast of downtown Philadelphia) and I am not looking to relocate from the area any time soon.