Options

Career advice for older IT worker

jb4479jb4479 Member Posts: 10 ■■■□□□□□□□
I've been in tech support of one form or another for almost my entire career, first in Navy electronics then RF engineering and finally ending up in IT. I have worked as a consultant for the last decade on various projects and contracts, I also helped to take care of my parents for the last several years but they are both gone now. I need a change.
I am 48 with over two decades of experience, roughly 15 in various IT support roles. I've done desktop support, computer repair, and small business consulting. I have some knowledge of programming, networking and web development, and an Associates degree in Computer networking. Hopefully I will be starting back to finish my bachelor's in February at WGU (Business-IT Management)
I'm not sure exactly what direction I want to move. I am currently studying for the CCNA, and am also working on the CAPM. Any advice would be appreciated.

Comments

• Options
    Danielm7Danielm7 Member Posts: 2,310 ■■■■■■■■□□
    You're going back to school for a management degree, is that where you want to focus? Otherwise, I'd try to pick a specialization that interests you and point my efforts in that direction.
  • Options
    UncleBUncleB Member Posts: 417
    jb4479 wrote: »
    Hopefully I will be starting back to finish my bachelor's in February at WGU (Business-IT Management)

I'm not sure exactly what direction I want to move.

You have 2 general directions I would consider in your position: