Options

Study Tips & Habits

JakeCourtneyJakeCourtney Member Posts: 19 ■□□□□□□□□□
I have the Sybex Network+ study guide.

I've got about half way through it already. I'm sitting here with the objectives in my hand wondering that is the best method of study. Should I work with the first Domain first or just try to fit everything together as I go? I guess I'm wondering if breaking it down will help me grasp it better. I guess I would just like to hear some others study habits.

Comments

• Options
    -prophet--prophet- Member Posts: 62 ■■□□□□□□□□
    I broke it down to the four objectives:

Media and topologies
    Protocols and standards
    Network Implementation
    Network Support

I chose to study the topics separately, one at a time and then test myself thoroughly on that topic (using TechExams site and others). Once I was confident I new it well, I moved onto the next. I found this way great because it gave me a sense of achievement and helped me to keep motivated. I studied, lived and breathed Net+ for a period of two and a half weeks, using the last few days of my study to review everything.

When I tried to do everything at once, it was just too much.

Cheers,
    Prophet
  • Options
    sartsart Member Posts: 44 ■■□□□□□□□□
    Love your avatar, -prophet-.

Jake, I found that studying the book in the order presented worked well for me. I used a book by Thompson learning technologies - (Available at course.com).

This might not apply for the sybex book.
    -network analyst
  • Options
    Megadeth4168Megadeth4168 Member Posts: 2,157
    I used the Sybex 4th edition book paired with practice tests from here and mcmcse.com.

I didnt really focus on things by objective I just read the book as it is presented and took all the practice tests in teh book.
  • Options
    johnnyg5646johnnyg5646 Member Posts: 173