Options

Am I a so called "Legit CCNA"?

Muhammed HMuhammed H Member Posts: 93 ■■■□□□□□□□
May be a dumb question that doesn't have any specific answer. But seriously what does a "legit CCNA" means
in real world. I found many people in this forum used that quite a few times in the past.

Does that mean someone who passed the exam using **** is an "illegit CCNA" ?

Or someone who passed in a legal way but never touched a real Cisco switch/router?

I passed CCNA almost 3 years back and in a legal way (No ****). I studied Todd/Odom's books, did labs in packet tracer, spend hours working on subnet, summarization maths, etc. But never worked on real Cisco equipment.

In my job I mostly deal with windows servers and VMWARE.

Now its time to renew my CCNA and I am following the same path as I did 3- years back.

Am I a "legit CCNA" by your definition?

Comments

• Options
    danny069danny069 Member Posts: 1,025 ■■■■□□□□□□
    I never used the word "legit CCNA" and nobody here should be using **** anyway. You're only cheating yourself if you do. Sure you are a CCNA, but you never had a chance to apply your skills in the real world. It's like a champion that has the belt but has never defended it. It doesn't mean you don't know your stuff, but once you have the chance to apply those skills, ie: using your knowledge to overcome challenges and problem solve, it truly validates your certification.
    I am a Jack of all trades, Master of None
  • Options
    gkcagkca Member Posts: 243 ■■■□□□□□□□
    No doubts about you being a "legit CCNA" - you passed the test, so you are a CCNA. But I'd think twice whether it's worth the effort and money to renew a certification on something you don't actually actively work with.
    "I needed a password with eight characters so I picked Snow White and the Seven Dwarves." (c) Nick Helm
  • Options
    thomas_thomas_ Member Posts: 1,012 ■■■■■■■■□□