Options

Unemployed, experienced, but need certs. How hard will my job search be?

metalone4metalone4 Member Posts: 66 ■■□□□□□□□□
Back in 2002 I got my A+ and MCP certs. From 2003 - 2013 I was a Technical Analyst for a large corporation. I supported a Windows domain. I transitioned from IT in mid 2013 to another technical job of Automation Technician (engineering, robotics, etc.) within the same company. Last year, after many doctor's visits I had to take FMLA and ultimately quit my Automation Technician job due to medical reasons (arthritis of the spine). It was a very physical job, no good for my back, but I was fortunate enough to get short term disability, which I'm on now.

I am currently training to take my CCNA exam since I've always wanted to be Cisco certified. I also want more Microsoft certs. My question for you good people is, how hard should I expect my job search to be? I'm a little frightened I won't find a good job in time before I run out of money. I have some valuable experience, but my certs are lacking...so I'm just wondering how that compares to people with no experience. How long should I plan on it taking to find a decent IT job ($25-$30/hr)?

Comments

• Options
    si20si20 Member Posts: 543 ■■■■■□□□□□
    If I was you, i'd write down your budget for certs e.g £500 and figure out a way of getting that cert as cheap as you can. It sounds like you have a lot of experience, so you should just make sure your CV really shows that. And you should tailor your CV to the job. By the sounds of things, you should be looking at a 3rd line support/manager role. It sounds like you're a techie and you want to go down the networking route. CCNA is definitely a good choice.
  • Options
    UncleBUncleB Member Posts: 417