Options

What am I missing???

Malita215Malita215 Member Posts: 20 ■■■□□□□□□□
First I want to note that I attached my resume just in case you want to look at it before you read the rest of my post.

Here's my dilemma.

I'm new to the information security field in regards to work experience. I'm actively pursuing my Master's degree as you will see on my resume and will be done in April, May graduation.

I steadily worked my way up from working in CVS in my early years to a barista onto hospital cafeterias to eventually landing my first IT gig in desktop. To some, I made great progress in my career. But to me, it's going very slow and I'm not getting many hits with security positions as I would hope, especially with my educational background. I know work experience plays a bigger factor in landing the job, but where are the companies that are willing to train someone as eager as I am to LEARN? I pride myself on the fact that if you teach me, I will learn it.

My last position (no longer employed) was a contract position that I held for 8 months. The official title was Information Security Analyst. However, I changed the title on my resume because going through school, I know what I did was nowhere near InfoSec. It was more user account provisioning. The department cared less about InfoSec. I was always told that "if they ask for access (to highly secured systems) give it to them. It's not our responsibility to determine if they should/shouldn't get the access".

Wrapping this up soon..

Also, in my graduate classes, a lot of my fellow classmates are working in the DoD or some other military branch and have years experience in the field already. When its time to introduce myself, it kinda suck knowing that I'm nowhere near their experience. They usually take the classes to fulfill work requirements. But for me, I thought it would help me get a shot.