Options

Question for everyone

BreadfanBreadfan Member Posts: 282 ■■■□□□□□□□
I have been at my job a year now and its not what I thought it would be. Background: It took me forever to break into IT, but I caught a lucky break getting into Info sec. I am an Information Security Officer and when I got this job (based on job description, etc) I thought I would be getting back to the hands on I sorely missed when I was doing C&A and risk management at my previous job. I wont get into specifics about why I dislike this position.
Recently, a friend of mine told me about a position where he works, but it is a Network Admin III position, and not in security. It deals with VMware farms (which I miss) and AD servers on a Tier 3 basis.
I have been looking for security positions casually for a few weeks, but everything is either a short contract or pretty much like what I do now and little to no hands on. I am looking to get back into the security engineer side of things instead of the policy and procedure side.
So my question to the board is this: Should I apply and pursue something out of the Info sec realm simply b/c I am looking to leave where I am and, or sit tight and keep looking? I know I don't need to stay there forever and I can get back some of the hands-on I miss as some my skills I believe have gotten "rusty" since I don't get to touch things only apply the policies and procedures to them on a daily basis.

Thanks.
Breadfan
Mark Twain

“If I cannot drink Bourbon and smoke cigars in Heaven than I shall not go.

Comments

• Options
    kohr-ahkohr-ah Member Posts: 1,277
    If you want to stay in infosec I wouldn't leave it to another job just to try to get back into it. I would sit tight.

If infosec wasn't what you thought it would be and you'd like to go back to the admin/engineer life i would take the other job.
  • Options
    E Double UE Double U Member Posts: 2,232 ■■■■■■■■■■
    Sit tight and keep looking.