Options

Any help with my career?

PUNISHPUNISH Member Posts: 10 ■□□□□□□□□□
I have been a long time visitor of this site and the information members provide is invaluable. I am trying to make the next big step in my career and was hoping that some of you could give me some insight as to what choice(s) I should make.

I am looking at making the jump in the next year into a higher level ISSM job or even CISO of an organization.

Background:
  • I am 31 and have the role of information systems security manager/officer for my organization.
  • I have only about 4 years experience in IT and about 10-12 in industrial, personnel and physical security
  • I have CISSP and security +
  • Have appropriate clearances
  • BS in Aeronautics/AS in Information Technology/ AS in Avionics Systems

Plan: My plan is to obtain a few certs to strengthen my resume and overall ISSM/ISSO experience. I played with the idea of CEH, but I ultimately think that if I can get the CISM and CISA added to my resume it would round my experience out for the next step. I also played around with the idea of the masters, but at this point I don't see it is an absolute requirement as much as I see certs.

While I enjoy playing around with the pen side of security, I just don't agree that the future is as bright in pen testing as it is in GRC work so I would like to stay GRC.

Any advice on what educational path would strengthen my resume for the next step in my security career?

Comments

• Options
    RoyalRavenRoyalRaven Member Posts: 142 ■■■□□□□□□□
    PUNISH wrote: »
    I am looking at making the jump in the next year into a higher level ISSM job or even CISO of an organization.

Based on this, the following would be ideas to consider (btw, I'm not in management, but have paid attention to what it will likely take and may go that route at some point):