Options

Not as advertised

Phileeeeeeep651Phileeeeeeep651 Member Posts: 179 ■■■□□□□□□□
So here's the situation, I recently took a position that while going through the interview process was advertised as a network troubleshooting role. In my previous IT job I was a monitoring analyst, so pretty much a tier 1 position making calls on down circuits, servers, databases, etc. After three weeks at my new position I am finding that the job isn't really what was advertised. Essentially all we are doing is opening trouble tickets on maintenance windows and contacting ISP's, which is almost exactly what I was doing at my prior position. No configuring, no troubleshooting.

The biggest reason I took this position was because, 1) I was trying to advance into a more challenging role and 2) I was extremely unhappy at my last position, so I kind of feel as though I just jumped ship on the first offer.

I'm kind of confused on what to do here. I personally believe that I can take on a larger role as before my monitoring analyst role I was in the Navy and did a lot of work with cisco routers, configuring satcom IP links and building ACL's. I don't necessarily think that I deserve some high level engineering role, in fact I don't think that I deserve anything but I just feel that I can do a whole lot more than I'm doing now. I'm worried that by sticking it out for 6 months, I'll take a hit on my resume for pretty much making a lateral transition to a new job or that by bailing too soon I'll take a hit on my resume for not being loyal/ team player / company focused, you name it.

I guess I'm just wondering if anyone else has been in my shoes and could offer some advice right now...
Working on: CCNP Switch

Comments

• Options
    networker050184networker050184 Mod Posts: 11,962 Mod
    No one will fault you for moving up in the world. No one you want to work for anyway. Like you said, a bunch of short term lateral moves will start to look bad though.