Passing the GSEC with no Bootcamp?

catheybp28catheybp28 Registered Users Posts: 1 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello,

So I am a senior in college and was recently accepted for a post grad position in cyber forensics. I have about 7 months until I absolutely must have the GSEC Sec401 passed to be allowed to work there. My boss said they will provide me some dvd's and online study material and my team members will help me when I start (3 months before i must pass the exam), but until then I am on my own and can not afford the bootcamp!

My concerns:
1. I have a very minimal classroom set of network and cyber security.
2. I have no experience with in-depth protocol and other network concepts
3. I have no knowledge of how to read tcp/ip and udp headers or of TCPdump
4. I may have to take the exam without the 6 sans textbooks
5. I must begin studying while still in school for three months (though my professor is a certified ethical hacker and may be able to help if I know what to ask.)
6. I have never taken a cert exam.

Please let me know any advice tips or experiences you have. So far until I get more information on what my work will do to help me pass I have purchased these books to help get a base of understanding:
Darril Gibson's "Security+: Get Certified, Get Ahead"
[h=1]GSEC GIAC Security Essentials Certification All-in-One Exam Guide[/h]I have taken basic networking and infrastructure courses and am enrolled in an infosec assurance course currently where we will play with wireshark and some burp suite and kali linux.

Again please let me know if I am doomed or what my plan should be. I need to pass this exam! Thanks.

Comments

• TechGromitTechGromit Member Posts: 2,156 ■■■■■■■■■□
    catheybp28 wrote: »
    4. I may have to take the exam without the 6 sans textbooks