Options

OSCP - Gearing Up

lugerluger Member Posts: 52 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi everybody,

I'm new here and planning to take on the OSCP course in the coming months. I have been working in Infosec for the last 2 years with my main duties being managing deployment of systems projects like laptop encryption, MDM, VPN etc. I have almost no pen testing experience except that I also manage our vulnerability scanners of our internal and production servers.

I understand that to take on the OSCP course and test, one must be familiar with Linux, Nmap, Python as well as Bash scripting. I have no experience in neither of these fields and only just started self studying in these areas. I have just finished the linuxsurvival tutorial course (link below) and quite "comfortable" in using all the commands given in this tutorial. I'm currently doing the sthurlow Python course (link below) but still at the beginning. Also bought a 3 month subscription for Pentesting Academy and doing the Python for pentesting course.

My biggest concern is how "comfortable" should I be in these areas before being able to seriously take on this course? I have read lots of threads and all OSCP students say you have to be "comfortable" in these areas. I mean everybody has his own definition being "comfortable". How will I know when i'm really ready to take on this beast? icon_sad.gif

Pentesting Academy
SectionPage | Linux Survival
Lesson 1 - Installing Python

Comments

• Options
    Mike-MikeMike-Mike Member Posts: 1,860
    good thread, I am in a similar boat as you, I am going to follow your lead
    Currently Working On

CWTS, then WireShark
  • Options
    si20si20 Member Posts: 543 ■■■■■□□□□□
    I did the OSCP with little pen-testing experience and I don't remember using any bash. It's a great course, although prepare to get frustrated.
  • Options
    RemedympRemedymp Member Posts: 834 ■■■■□□□□□□
    si20 wrote: »