Options

Passed the ICND1 today, but I'm disappointed.

Gpdriver17Gpdriver17 Member Posts: 27 ■□□□□□□□□□
I just took my first Cisco exam and I'm truly disappointed. I have no experience in IT, this was my first exam. I felt like I had a really good level of knowledge going into this and was honest ready to crush OSPF, IPV6, NAT, etc. Configurations and all. Lets just say pretty much every MAJOR area I studied and expected to be the core of this exam, were not even touched. Not a single question. This exam in my opinion was really poor judge of knowledge. I think one can really know their stuff going into this exam and fail. Cisco doesn't have a passing score. But the way I feel is, if we assume an 85% is passing, at least 15% of the questions are absolutely ridiculous and the other 85% are cake if you know your stuff. Part of me feels bad for not getting a 100% (I truly felt I knew everything), but some of the questions were just ridiculous. Not hard, just very poor choices, poor wording, and tedious.

Anyways, the reason I'm posting this is because I'm questioning my continuation with Cisco. Does anyone else feel this way about the exam or know if it gets better from here? If the ICND2 doesn't test a LOT more actual knowledge then I don't know how the CCNA can mean anything to employers. I had been planning on going straight to my CCNP studies, but not if all their exams are this terrible.

Comments

• Options
    jgraves16jgraves16 Member Posts: 1 ■□□□□□□□□□
    I should be taking my 200-120 (CCNAX) by the end of next week or early the following week. I hope I get an exam like yours :)

I've been studying, labbing with PT, and taking practice exams for three months now and pulling 90+ on the exams, and still have areas I don't feel 100% on.

It sounds like they pull random questions from a pool. 55-60 questions doesn't seem like a lot, I guess it just matters if you get lucky with the questions.

Anyways, congrats...
  • Options