Options

Want to quit on the spot...

si20si20 Member Posts: 543 ■■■■■□□□□□
Quick history: I worked as an IT Tech for 5 years, went to university to study digital forensics for 3 years (very technical, finished with a first class degree). I got a job as a security analyst after graduating - it was somewhat technical, but I worked shifts 7am-7pm on days, then 7pm-7am nights. After 10 months, I was done. I weighed 2 stone more than when I started and was done for.

I got another job (9-5:30pm) as a security analyst (again, my mistake). I've now been there 11/12 months and i've hit the point where i've gone stir crazy. I got offered a forensics position with the police last month but had to turn it down because they offered £21k (i'm on £40k right now) and to drop 19k was a bit too unrealistic - especially seeing as the job was 90 miles away. On top of this, my manager was arranging to send me on SANS, but seeing as the police forensics role got in touch with my manager for a reference - he has responded by putting everyone else in the team on SANS - apart from me, because he knows I want to leave. Talk about a kick in the gut.

For the last 12 months, i've literally had NOTHING to do. Nothing as in: nothing. The most I get to do is right click and run a report (xls) and open the spreadsheet. That's it. I'm contemplating just quitting on the spot. My family will be extremely angry with me (I still live at home). But I don't think I can take much longer of this. Colleagues are lazy (on youtube all day, loving the fact they do nothing). If I was more emotional, i'd probably shed a tear at how bad this job is.

I know quitting on the spot is bad and will make it harder to get another job, but what do I do? Spam CV's? I have reached breaking point with this current role.

Comments

• Options
    knownheroknownhero Member Posts: 450